On Sunday, Eddie Murphy, one of the unequivocal greatest comedians of all time, was awarded with an honor befitting of his legendary résumé. Mr. Murphy was honored with the Kennedy Center’s Mark Twain Prize for American Humor. The prestigious award has previously been won by comedy greats Steve Martin, Richard Pryor and Carl Reiner, among others. Last Sunday’s affair was a star-studded event, with a number of Murphy’s high-profile comedy comrades hitting the stage to enshrine him. The list included George Lopez, Dave Chappelle, Trevor Noah and Murphy’s longtime collaborator Arsenio Hall. Joining them were a number of fellow SNL alumni like Chris Rock, Jay Pharoah, Joe Piscopo and Tracy Morgan. Morgan, of course, took the stage in one of his first onstage appearances since his heroic fight back from brutal car accident (we love you Tracy!)

Mr. Murphy’s accomplishments in the entertainment field are remarkable and endless. From his stand-alone performances on Saturday Night Live, to his groundbreaking stand-up specials (Raw and Delirious), to his transition into an international movie star (Beverly Hills Cop, 48 Hours, Trading Places), Eddie has left no stone unturned in his illustrious career. He was even nominated for an Academy Award in 2007 for Best Supporting Actor for his portrayal of troubled soul singer James “Thunder” Early. While he is now focusing more on selectively choosing films and making music, comedians everywhere will tell you that Eddie Murphy remains the funniest person on the planet. We at Stand Up NY congratulate Mr. Murphy on once again being recognized as a true legend of the entertainment industry.

To stay up-to-date with our frequent special guests, follow us on Facebook & Twitter!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *